

March 12, 2018

## **TEAMSTERS CANADA RAIL CONFERENCE**

General Committees of Adjustment Canadian Pacific Railway

Greg Edwards John Campbell General Chairmen Locomotive Engineers Dave Fulton Wayne Apsey General Chairmen Conductors, Trainmen, Yardmen

VIA EMAIL

## All TCRC Local Chairs- CPR Eastern and Western Regions - Bulletin 7

As we have indicated in our previous bulletins, on January 22, 2018 we gave notice of dispute in accordance with the provisions of the Canada Labour Code and on January 29, 2018, the Minister appointed Messrs. Steve Samosinski and Daniel J. Shewchuk as Conciliation Officers to deal with our dispute.

Despite our efforts, the employer continues to demand what we see as significant concessions in virtually all areas of the present Collective Agreements. The employer has continuously released impressive reports of earnings for last year consistent with the pattern of significant profits for several years. Profits seem to be followed by even more profits, and their forecast is for continued robust traffic levels, lower operating ratio resulting in record profits. There is no reasonable explanation for the employer to continue seeking concessions from their employees, you, the Member. We continue to face these demands and so far, have been unable to secure an acceptable contract settlement.

The conciliation process within the Canada Labour Code is normally 60 days, unless the parties extend it by mutual agreement. On March 30, 2018, the 60 – day period will expire followed by a 21 – day cooling off period in which conciliation becomes mediation. At the expiration of the 21 days, either party, upon serving 72 hours' notice, can take legal action for a work stoppage in the form of a strike, or lockout. As you are aware, the Union must secure strike authority from the membership in order to take such action.

Accordingly, we have prepared and are sending out a strike vote for your support. Similar to the MOS ratification, we have secured the services of "Simply Voting" to manage the electronic strike ballot. Eligible members have each been assigned a unique Personal Identification Number (PIN) that will identify them as someone authorized to cast their vote. Eligible members may cast their vote over the phone, or through the designated website established for this ratification ballot.

Please be advised the strike ballot package was mailed out today, Monday March 12<sup>th</sup>, and should arrive at your mailing address depending on location within the next 7 – days.

The balloting period will begin on March 16, 2018 at 1200 (noon) Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) and will end on April 6, 2018 at noon Eastern Daylight Time (EDT).

Anyone within the TCRC – CP Bargaining Unit who does not receive a strike ballot package should:

- 1. Notify their General Committee (GC) Office providing their full particulars, including work location (Division number), employee number, address and phone number (including email address). Email is mandatory in order to send the information in a timely matter.
- 2. The GC's Office will confirm the member is entitled to receive a ballot, will compile contact information, Language (English or French) and send an excel list to the Western TCRC Office in Calgary by email, once daily at 1600 (EDT). Note: It is very important to send a new list daily to avoid duplicates. Only one list per day.
- 3. The Western GC Office will:
  - a. Check their records to confirm the member is in the system, or enter into system based on GC Office information.
  - b. Assign a voting PIN.
  - c. Contact Simply Voting to activate the PIN to that member.
  - d. Simply Voting will email PIN to Member and the link to the strike ballot package.
- 4. Cut off date and time for emailing packages is April 6, 2018 at 11:00 Eastern Daylight Time (EDT).

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. Calgary Office 1-403-640-4115 LE/CTY West; LE East Office 1-705-875-2684; CTY East Office 1-613-205-1238 or (1-613-612-0984).

Sincerely and in Solidarity,

Igne X

Greg Edwards General Chairman, LE West

Randell

John Campbell General Chairman, LE East

cc: Doug Finnson, President TCRC Rolly Hackl, Vice President TCRC

Dalton

Dave Fulton General Chairman, CTY West

Wayne Apsey

Wayne Apsey General Chairman, CTY East